Advisory Council, Author

John M. Deutch

Institute Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

John Deutch is an Institute Professor Emeritus at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Deutch has been a member of the MIT faculty since 1970, and has served as Chairman of the Department of Chemistry, Dean of Science, and Provost. Deutch has published over 160 technical publications in physical chemistry, as well as numerous publications on technology, energy, international security, and public policy issues.

Deutch served as Director of Central Intelligence from May 1995–December 1996. From 1994–95, he served as Deputy Secretary of Defense and served as Undersecretary of Defense for Acquisition and Technology from 1993–1994. Deutch has also served as Director of Energy Research (1977–79), Acting Assistant Secretary for Energy Technology (1979), and Undersecretary (1979–80) in the United States Department of Energy. In addition, Deutch has served on the President’s Nuclear Safety Oversight Committee (1980–81); the President’s Commission on Strategic Forces (1983); the White House Science Council (1985–89); the President’s Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board (1990–93); the President’s Commission on Aviation Safety and Security (1996); the President’s Commission on Reducing and Protecting Government Secrecy (1996–97); and as Chairman of the Commission to Assess the Organization of the Federal Government to Combat the Proliferation of Weapons of Mass Destruction (1998–99). He was a member of the President’s Committee of Advisors on Science and Technology (1997–2001) and a member of the National Petroleum Council (2008–18). He received the Aspen Strategy Group Leadership Award in 2004 and was the Phi Beta Kappa “Orator” at Harvard University, 2005. He is a member of the National Petroleum Council and the American Philosophical Society. In 2009 Deutch received the MIT Gordon Y Billard award: “… for special service of outstanding merit performed for the Institute.” He was a member of the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board (2012–17) and chair (2014–17).

He has served on the board of directors of Cheniere, Citigroup, CMS, Cummins, Raytheon, Schlumberger, and SAIC and as a Trustee or Director of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston; Massachusetts General Hospital Physicians Organization; Center for American Progress; the Council on Foreign Relations; Resources for the Future; and the Urban Institute.